Sisterz in Zion, DVD

PuenteSisterzI often browse through, Deseret Book and Seagull book looking for new material. On the discounted table at Seagull Book I saw this movie, “Sisterz in Zion” I grabbed a copy and decided to sit down and watch it with my wife, hey the film was cheap! The story follows some girls (mostly Hispanic) from New York City who are members of the LDS Church who go to EFY in Provo.

I could kind of relate I have been to lots of youth activities, however, I never went to EFY though.

I thought this movie did a really good job at showing the contrast between sheltered Utah and the ghettos of New York City. I guess I was pretty sheltered until I got to Venezuela on my mission and realized how different the world really was. I had extenuating circumstances and I finished my mission in Florida. I knew a lot of people in Florida just like the girls show in the film, since a lot of people were leaving New York to come to Florida when I was there (and probably still are). I visited with many New Yorkers and Puerto Ricans while there, so attitudes of the girls in this film did not surprise me at all. Coincidentally the living conditions in New York was what really surprised me, this was the first film I have ever seen that actually showed what it was like for people to live in New York. I have seen plenty of films about New York but this actually gave a clear picture of the living conditions of the many people which is sub par.

Many of these girls joined the church when they were older kids like 10 – 13 or in their early teens. It was interesting that they kind of had to learn to live like Mormons without having a lot of examples in their lives, it shows how living in Utah you have a support system that is unparalleled.

When they got to Utah they realized how clean and tidy the streets were. They were surprised to see that there were barrels of candy and other things right in the front of the store where it could have easily been stolen, something that just would have never been done in New York.

EFY was a good experience for them. They had never been around so many people with high standards and moral. Since this is just a review I don’t want to go into too much detail about each thing that happened in the film however, I would highly recommend this film to anybody I think that this film is a good film to show youth groups so that they really understand what life is like without having a support system and living the gospel solo.

One of my favorite parts of the film is when they showed clips of a S. Michael Wilcox talk about the nourishment that we receive Jacob 5:22 was quoted and he said that it matters very little where we were planted but that it is how we respond to the nourishment we receive.

At that end the Young women’s general president Susan W. Tanner speaks to them about staying strong which was quite touching, they also did a “Where are they now” segment at the end showing how this experience really shaped their lives.

I would not hesitate to recommend this movie as good way to kick back on a Sunday afternoon.

For more information about the film visit https://byustudies.byu.edu/showtitle.aspx?title=8016

For more information about ProphetPaintings visit http://www.prophetpaintings.com

Leave a Reply

