What Does Christmas Really Mean to You?

HotM-Lrg

I avoided calling this post “The True Meaning of Christmas” because I think that is cliche. What Christmas might mean to me is different than what it might mean to another. For example some people might say that it is about the Saviors Birth, (which is what we celebrate) I believe that it is about his life. Christmas is a Christian holiday but it originated from the Catholic Church. Christ’s Mass became Christmas. I have great respect for the Catholics and appreciate what they gave us with Christmas. So for some they might feel that the celebration of Christmas is pagan because of its roots. I love Christmas and I love studying about the life of Jesus. 

I remember when I was about 9 years old we had a Christmas program at our church they did some songs but had a slide show showing the life of Jesus Christ. I asked my primary teacher how long did Jesus live she said 33 years. That was the first time I had ever heard that. This slide show began a life long love of studying the savior life. The true meaning of Christmas is that he lives and he loves us.

One of my favorite paintings is the Hands of the Master, which I think exemplifies what Christmas should be about His life and what he did for us.

May you each have a merry Christmas and find out what Christmas means to you! For this and other paintings please visit http://www.prophetpaintings.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

