Roku a Good Idea for Mormon Families

Back in 2011 I was trying to find some information on some old television shows that I used to watch when I was a kid. I found that I could watch those episodes on Amazon Instant, however, I was not going to

get them becasue I thought that I would have to use my computer to watch them. I did some research and found that I could stream them to my TV, now I am not much of a streaming kind of guy I prefer owning the DVD because that way I get more freedom. The way I could stream them to my TV was from a little device called the Roku. When I say little device I mean it is a little device. The device is about 3 inches by 3 inches and about 1 inch deep, it can connect through HDMI or regular inputs. My wife was not sold on the idea but I got a Christmas bonus and purchased one and now my wife is hooked too. The reason it is such a valuable tool for Mormon families is:

  1. You can get access to the Mormon Channel 24/7
  2. You have access to BYUTV
  3. You have access to PBS and KBYU shows
  4. You have access to cooking channels
  5. They are all FREE

There are paid services but most of things that you would want to watch would be free, the box itself ranges from $60 – $100. I do pay for a few services such as the Story of Liberty. There are tons of great stuff I would not hesitate to get one again.

 

Leave a Reply

