Filmstrips Found

I received a phone call from a lady the other day who said that she had some “Book of Mormon” film strips that she wanted to send to me. She read my article on EzineArticles called A Forgotten LDS Art – Film Strip. This nice lady told me that she was going to send them free of charge. I was surprised. She told me that she had a feeling that she should send it to us. I have been collecting LDS media and other LDS art and LDS artwork for years now, that is why I started the website http://www.prophetpaintings.com.

I think that I might be the only person who remembers film strips. I used to use them in my Sunday School class when I taught the 10 – 12 year old Valiant Boys in my last ward. I will post pictures of them if you have questions feel free to let me know.

5 comments

  1. I remember the filmstrips with fond recollection. You may be saddened to know many of these collections are discarded or lost when meetinghouses are remodeled. My mother was once a ward librarian and she caught a Stake librarian tossing old material, books and media into a trash can! Her rationale was that it was not on the “approved” list of meetinghouse library material. My mother was of the opinion that the things you could no longer get via distribution were the things you should hang on to for dear life!

    I remember especially the Indian Seminary filmstrips with Gary Grower, Benny Builder, Freddie Finder, etc. We used them in FHE’s occasionally. I also remember watching the Church History and Old Testament Seminary filmstrips when I was young. I don’t think you can find anything of equal in the media produced today.

    Anyway, interesting stuff. Keep up the good posts!

    1. The Indian Seminary ones are hard to find because most of them were made in conjunction with a Seventy who made some mistakes is no longer a member. The church really stopped using them, especially since the Indian placement program is not in operation, it never officially ended it just stopped being implemented. They are really good though. I found most of mine at Deseret Industries.

      1. Every once in a while you can find them on eBay. It is hit or miss though I purchased some on eBay years ago and have not seen them in recent years.

Leave a Reply

