Urban Legends in LDS Art

Yesterday I went to the library. I have not been as often as I used to because now we have two children. Since I live in Utah, the Library has a large section dedicated to LDS books. I found a book that I thoroughly enjoyed call “Mormon Myth-ellaneous” by J. Michael Hunter. This book explores Mormon myths. Since I started www.prophetpaintings.com, I have been more keenly aware of LDS art. I wrote an article posted on Ezines about LDS art history entitled “LDS Art- a Brief History” which can be found at http://ezinearticles.com/?LDS-Art-A-Brief-History&id=3620478. In the article I talked about Harry Anderson, a painter commissioned by the LDS church, who was not a member of the church but a Seventh-Day Adventist. I have great respect for the Seventh-Day Adventist faith as I knew many while serving as a missionary. In the “Mormon Myth-ellaneous” the author talked about Harry Anderson and the the urban legend that he and the church had a disagreement on whether or not to place wings on the angels in his famous second coming painting. According to the book this was not the case and he already knew about the church’s position on the matter prior to painting it (Mormon Myth-ellaneous Page 86 – 87).

The book also talks about an urban legend involving Del Parson who painted the most widely accepted painting of Christ. There are many rumors that his painting is the most accurate painting, and that a girl who had lost her parents and become bitter had a change of heart during the unveiling of the painting because she recognized Him as the person who had been with her the night her parents died. Nice story however, according to the book the story is a mixture of several real experiences combined and embellished. Del Parson and his family are trying to get away from the story as they say it never happened.

I have studied urban legends for years, in particular Mormon urban legends. This book was a real treat and it was even cooler that the topics at hand fit with my new website.

For some great LDS art please visit http://www.prophetpaintings.com if you have questions you can always email us at support@prophetpaitings.com

Leave a Reply

