Prophet Paintings Discovery

When I was serving as a missionary for the Mormon church in Florida, I became fascinated with LDS (Latter-day Saint) media. I collect everything from books, videos, and pictures to film strips and old documents. I began to notice more and more things that I had never noticed before. One painting in particular stood out to me. I saw a LDS painting that was showcasing all of the LDS prophets from Joseph Smith to, at the time, Gordon B. Hinkley. When I got back from Florida and went back to private life, I was excited when I found out that my brother was engaged to the daughter of the artist who painted that particular picture. When President Hinkley passed away in 2008, I wondered how the artist was going to add President Monson to the the painting. I was excited when soon after President Monson was ordained the prophet he was included in the painting, I never did ask him how he did that but I still think that it was pretty amazing. For more information about the Prophet Paintings and other LDS artwork, please visit http://www.prophetpaintings.com.

One comment

  1. Thank you for sharing the painting of the latter-day Prophets in the Temple. It made me feel reverence and love for these great leaders. I’ve never seen this painting before.

Leave a Reply

